Steering Committee

Responsibilities of the Steering Committee:

  • Set direction for the Initiative
  • Set the agenda for the Initiative and identify financing for projects/events, as needed
  • Schedule and plan Initiative events
  • Establish and disband committees/task forces as the need arises
  • Coordinate communications among members of the Initiative, partner organizations and the resource sharing community
  • Maintain liaison relationships with organizations such as IFLA, ALA RUSA, ASCLA ICAN, etc.
  • Track and, at least annually, report on the Initiative’s goals, activities and accomplishments


  • Chair
  • Past Chair
  • Chair-Elect
  • At Large member
  • At Large member
  • At Large member
  • At large member (International)

Ex officio members

  • Past Steering Committee Chairs
  • RRSI/RUSA STARS Policies Committee, Chair
  • Standards and Interoperability Liaison
  • Partner Institution Representatives

The Steering Committee has seven core members. The rest of the Committee is made up of ex officio members representing different types of libraries as well as past Steering Committee chairs and liaisons from committees/task forces and/or partner  organizations. Ex officio members are invited to participate in Steering Committee conference calls and in-person meetings, receive minutes and may be included in agenda business; however, their attendance is not mandatory and calls/meetings will be scheduled to accommodate core members.

The Steering Committee Chair-Elect is elected by the Steering Committee and will serve one year as chair-elect, one year as chair, and one year as past-chair.  Appointment as an At-Large member is open to anyone in the resource sharing community with an interest and the ability to be involved with the Initiative.  At-Large members of the Steering Committee are appointed for a three-year term with the possibility of reappointment to a second term.

January through June 2019 Rethinking Resource Sharing Steering Committee – Core Members

Co-Chairs Margaret Ellingson
Head of ILL & Course Reserves
Woodruff Main & Health Sciences Libraries / Emory University


Lars Leon
Resource Sharing Librarian
University of Kansas Libraries


Jen Salvo-Eaton
Head of Resource Sharing & Graduate Student Services
University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries

Past Chair Sue Kaler
Interlibrary Loan Manager
Massachusetts Library System
At-Large Member  CJ de Jong
Access Services Coordinator, Librarian
University of Alberta Libraries
At-Large Member Ryan Litsey
Associate Librarian, Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
Texas Tech University Libraries
At-Large Member Vacant
At-Large Member (International) Poul Erlandsen
Head of Department, The Royal Library – CULIS
The Royal Library, Copenhagen


January through June 2019 Rethinking Resource Sharing Steering Committee – Ex Officio Members

+RUSA STARS Rethinking Resource Sharing Policies Committee Chair

  Amanda Musacchio
Resource Sharing Specialist
Reaching Across Illinois Library System

+RRS Innovation Award Committee Chair

  Sue Kaler
Interlibrary Loan Manager
Massachusetts Library System

+Liaisons from partner organizations, etc.

IFLA DDRS Standing Committee Representative Seangill (Peter) Bae
Circulation Services Director
Princeton University Library
OCLC Representative vacant
Standards and Interoperability Liaison Clare MacKeigan
Operations Director, Resource Sharing
Tampa Bay Library Consortium Representative
Beth Farmer
Assistant Director
Tampa Bay Library Consortium

+Rethinking Resource Sharing Past Chairs

Seangill (Peter) Bae
Circulation Services Director
Princeton University Library


Evan Simpson
Associate Dean for Research and Learning
Northeastern University

Mary Lehane (retired)
Interlibrary Loan Supervisor
York University
Beth Posner
Head of Interlibrary Loan
Mina Rees Library, CUNY Graduate Center
Gina Persichini
Networking Consultant
Idaho Commission for Libraries
Poul Erlandsen
Det Kongelige Bibliotek/The Royal Library, Denmark
Anne Beaubien (retired)
Director, MLibrary Document Delivery and Grants Officer
University of Michigan Library
Brenda Bailey-Hainer
Executive Director
American Theological Library Association